COUNCIL

Date and Time: Thursday 19 May 2022 at 7.00 pm

Place: Council Chamber

Present:

COUNCILLORS -

Worlock (Chairman)

Axam Delaney Neighbour Bailey Dorn Oliver Blewett Engström Quarterman Butcher Forster Radley Butler Farmer Smith Southern Clarke Hale Wildsmith Coburn Harward Cockarill Kennett Woods Collins Kinnell Wright

Crampton Lamb

Davies Makepeace-Browne

Officers Present:

Daryl Phillips Joint Chief Executive Patricia Hughes Joint Chief Executive

Sharon Black Committee Services Officer Claire Lord Committee Services Officer

1 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Councillor Worlock was proposed by the current Chairman and seconded by Councillor Neighbour as Chairman of the Council.

DECISION

That Councillor Worlock be elected Chairman of the Council for the municipal year 2022/23.

Cllr Worlock thanked Mr Ambler for his work as Chairman during 2021/22, and presented him with his past Chairman's badge.

Mr Ambler in response thanked Members, officers and staff for their support during his tenure.

2 ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN

Councillor Wildsmith was proposed by Councillor Neighbour and seconded by Councillor Crampton as Vice Chairman of the Council.

Voting by a show of hands was not unanimous. A recorded vote was undertaken, which showed that all Members voted in favour of Mr Wildsmith's appointment.

DECISION

That Councillor Wildsmith be elected Vice Chairman of the Council for the municipal year 2022/23.

3 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Minutes of the meeting of 28 April 2022 were confirmed and signed as a correct record.

A matter arising, under Minute 87 was raised. This related to an apology from Councillor Kinnell to Councillors Forster and Butcher, as required by the recent Appeals Panel hearing, and which had been deferred to this meeting.

Councillor Kinnell read out her apology statement. Councillor Forster felt this was not a valid apology. He highlighted that an apology is the act of declaring one's regret, or remorse for having wronged another. In order to count as valid, an apology must meet a number of conditions. There must be an acknowledgment the incident occurred and was inappropriate; a recognition of responsibility for the act; the expression of an attitude of regret and a feeling of remorse; and the declaration of an intention to refrain from similar acts in the future.

In his opinion the words offered by Councillor Kinnell did not meet these criteria and therefore it was not accepted by him as an appropriate apology.

4 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Councillor Crisp.

5 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations were made.

6 CHAIRMAN AND JOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVES' ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chairman welcomed all members to the municipal year, particularly those Councillors new to Hart.

JOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVES' ANNOUNCEMENTS

Forthcoming training for all Councillors:

Thursday 8 June 11am-1pm – workshop on UK Shared Prosperity Fund. This will be open for Parish representatives and external agencies also.

The Overview and Scrutiny meeting on 14 June will be a single item agenda meeting on Cyber Security and will be open for all Councillors.

7 MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET

The Leader confirmed membership of Cabinet and their Portfolios:

Councillor Neighbour Leader - Strategic Direction and Partnerships

Councillor Radley Deputy Leader - Finance

Councillor Oliver Environment

Councillor Cockarill Place
Councillor Collins Regulatory

Councillor Clarke Digital and Communications

Councillor Bailey Community

Councillor Quarterman Commercialisation and Corporate Services

8 MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES

The number of places for the Conservatives was incorrect and would be amended to read 15.

The nominations for Membership for each Committee, with regards to the rules of political proportionality, were confirmed:

Committee	Seats	Con	Lib Dem	ССН	Ind
Audit	7	Southern Hale	Blewett Engström	Axam Davies	Smith
Licensing	11	Forster Coburn Farmer	Crisp Harward Lamb Wildsmith	Butler Collins Delaney	Smith
O&S	11	Dorn Farmer Coburn Butcher	Engström Wildsmith Woods	Davies Butler Axam Smith (Ind)	
Crime & Disorder	3	Butcher	Wildsmith	Butler	

5 Councils	2		Wildsmith	Axam
Planning	11	Forster Southern Worlock Kennett	Blewett Wildsmith Cockarill Quarterman	Radley Makepeace-Browne Oliver
Staffing	9	Farmer Worlock Crampton	Bailey Wildsmith Neighbour	Butler Makepeace-Browne Radley
Standards	6	Dorn Kennett	Bailey Neighbour	Makepeace-Browne Clarke

It was noted that an advert for a replacement lay person for Peter Kern would be published and an update given in due course.

Appeals	6	Hale	Engström	Collins
Panel		Kennett	Harward	Butler

DECISION:

That the membership of the Committees be agreed as above.

9 ELECTION OF CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES

Members of the Committees established under Minute No 8 above elected their Chairmen for the 2022/2023 municipal year.

DECISION

That the Committee Chairmen be agreed:

Committee	Chairman
Audit	Axam
Licensing	Wildsmith*
Planning	Quarterman
Overview & Scrutiny	Dorn
Staffing	Makepeace-Browne

^{*}Council consented to waive Standing Order 28.8 to agree the election of Councillor Wildsmith as Chairman of Licensing Committee. This was done by way of a recorded vote:

For: Axam; Bailey; Blewett; Butcher; Butler; Clarke; Coburn; Cockarill; Collins; Crampton; Davies; Delaney; Engström; Farmer; Hale; Harward; Kennett; Kinnell;

Lamb; Makepeace-Browne; Neighbour; Oliver; Quarterman; Radley; Smith; Wildsmith; Woods; Worlock; Wright

Against: Dorn; Forster; Southern

10 ANNUAL REPORT FROM THE CHAIRMAN OF THE OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

The Chairman of the 2021/22 Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Councillor Worlock, presented the Committee's Annual Report, highlighting some key areas.

The Committee had dealt with a number of new initiatives during the year, and had reintroduced outside speakers which had proven hugely informative.

Councillor Worlock met monthly with the Leader of the Council and had monthly briefings with officers and staff. In particular, she thanked Emma Foy for her work and support of the Committee.

She thanked Committee members for their work and welcomed Councillor Dorn as Chairman for 2022/23.

The meeting closed at 7.47 pm